#DTJax Awards Winners

Downtown Vision created the #DTJax Awards in 2015 to celebrate the people and projects making Downtown Jacksonville a better place to live, work, visit and invest. 

Downtowner of the Year

Award to honor an individual who has demonstrated inspirational leadership and has made strides to create and support a vibrant Downtown.

Past winners:

2015 – Alex Coley, NAI Hallmark

2016 – Ben Davis, Intuition Ale Works

2017 – Frank Denton & Mark Nusbaum, J Magazine

2018 – Ambassador John D. Rood & Steve Moore, Vestcor

2019 – Brian Wolfburg, VyStar Credit Union

2020 – Jessica Santiago, ArtRepublic

2021 – Mari  Kuraishi, DuPont Fund

2022 – Jason Hunnicutt, 1904, Ocean Street Tacos and Underbelly

Downtown Project of the Year

Award to recognize a project that has significantly enhanced the economic revitalization of Downtown through the activation of underutilized resources, job creation, or leading design practices.

Past winners:

2015 – Sweet Pete’s, Allison & Peter Behringer

2016 – Winston Family YMCA, First Coast YMCA

2017 – Cowford Chophouse, Jacques & Alex Klempf

2018 – 20West FSCJ Housing and Cafe, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Profit Investments and LISC Jacksonville

2019 – The Barnett Building and UNF Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation, SouthEast Group and UNF

2020 – Jacksonville Regional Transportation Center, Jacksonville Transportation Authority

2021- The Breezeway at VyStar Tower

2022 – FIS Headquarters

Retail Project of the Year

A new retail project that has created an amenity for Downtown residents, employees and visitors through remarkable design and unique offerings

Past Winners:

2021- The Bread and Board Provisions

2022 – Ruby Beach Brewing

Small Business of the Year

Award to recognize a thriving street level retailer who enhances the Downtown experience.

Past winners:

2019 – Bellwether, Jonathan Insetta and Allan DeVault

2020 – Manifest Distilling 

2021- The Volstead

2022 – Dos Gatos

Downtown Achievement Award

Award that recognizes an individual or organization for a significant body of work that reinforces Downtown as the premier center for arts, dining, retail, entertainment, business and/or urban living in Northeast Florida.

Past winners:

2015 – DuPont Fund/Center, Sherry Magill

2016 – Council President Lori Boyer

2017 – Preston Haskell

2018 – Aundra Wallace, Downtown Investment Authority

2019 – Debbie Buckland, Truist Bank

2020 – Maria Hane

2021-  Mayor Lenny Curry

2022 – Dawn Lockhart

Ambassador of the Year

Award to honor a Downtown Ambassador who continually goes above and beyond in their service of Downtown’s stakeholders, residents, employees and visitors.

Past winners:

2015 – Lydia Cobbert

2016 – Michael Ryan

2017 – Willie Browner

2018 – Michael Ryan

2019 – Michael Carpenter

2020 – Johnny Duckett

2021- David Vasquez

2022 – Duan Thompson